# Why can't I reuse the name of a deleted VM?


VM names are global across all exe.dev users, not per team. If someone else
already has a VM called `pufferfish`, nobody else can create one with that
name.

When a VM is deleted with `rm`, or given a new name with `rename`, its old
name is held for the VM's owner for 24 hours. During that time the owner can
create a new VM or rename an existing VM with that name.

After 24 hours, the name is free and anyone can use it.
